• Member Services

    What does my health plan cover?


    What does my health insurance cover

    June 22, 2014

    loading shares     No Comments

    Under the Affordable Care Act, all non-grandfathered individual and small group insurance plans include 10 essential health benefit categories.  Millions of people may now have access to more comprehensive coverage that includes items and services within at least the following 10 categories:

    1. Ambulatory patient services
    2. Emergency services
    3. Hospitalization
    4. Maternity and newborn care
    5. Mental health and substance use disorder services, including behavior health treatment
    6. Prescription drugs
    7. Rehabilitative and habilitative services and devices
    8. Laboratory services
    9. Preventive,  wellness and chronic disease management services
    10. Pediatric services, including oral and vision care


    Keep in mind that each member may have different types of items and services that are covered, depending on what type of health insurance he or she purchased.


    If you’re a Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan or Blue Care Network member, here’s how to find out what’s covered under your specific plan:

    1. Log into your account at bcbsm.com
    2. Hover over “My Coverage” in the blue bar at the top of the page
    3. Select “Medical” from the drop down


    In addition to reviewing your benefits on bcbsm.com you can also: 


    Even better, nearly everything you can do on the website you can do on your smartphone or tablet.


    For more health insurance tips visit bcbsm.com/101 or follow the hashtag #Covered101 on our social channels. If you have a specific question, please submit your query online through our Customer Action Center


    Photo Credit: Brian Talbot 

    Tagged With ,,.


    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • Top News

    “I Couldn’t Imagine Working Anywhere Else!”

    loading shares      No Comments


    BCBSM Employee Shares Story of MLK Day of Service

    loading shares      No Comments